SDS Womyn's Caucus Blog

An Apology to Men Everywhere.

Posted on: October 20, 2009

This is just something I’ve started fleshing out. I think it would be really good for us all to contribute so PLEASE add.

An Apology:

I can’t tell you enough how sorry I am that you are so confined to your awful gender norm that require you to ASSUME positions of power and that require that you have pretty much full control and autonomy over your own life. It sucks that no ruling power is above you besides a government that is made up of ….men. For that, I am truly sorry. I, as a woman, would love to be the first to apologize for boxing you in as my oppressor and making you writhe in discomfort when you talk about how much it hurts you to hurt me. I am SO sorry that by ‘working on your shit’ you mean ‘not’ and trust me, I know, from just how much you’ve told me, that that sucks. A lot. I know what you’re going through; I understand your struggle. I may never be able to understand it fully, but I will try my hardest, throwing aside my own problems to help you figure out yours. After all, it’s hard to be a feminist! Too many ambitions to save the world, too little time.

I’m also sorry that I haven’t told you what I need, when I need it, and how to do it. Explicit instructions are important! I guess there’s never really been a good time to explain them though, but that’s okay, I can wait! I know that it takes time and my patience for you to learn them- both of which you have an infinite amount of from me. I’ll understand your oppression before you begin to tackle mine. I’ll even help you through yours and heal your tattered and torn soul, tired and broken from years of taking all the space you could possibly need and more and therefore stepping all over people who are in your way. It’s exhausting to watch over the globe and I’ll give you a haven where you are able to rest and vent all your frustrations having to do with such responsibility and restrictions.

Anything at all that I can help you with, please, let me know. PLEASE.

Sorry if this is too inarticulate, inaccurate, unsophisticated or whatnot.

I just needed space to vent, I figured this blog would be the best place to do it in the hopes that someone feels the same way.

Love always.

1 Response to "An Apology to Men Everywhere."

Yay! This is amazing! Thanks for contributing Ellen!

Leave a Reply

